Arizona DUI Cost
Driving under the influence, called a DUI, refers to the act of operating a motorized vehicle while under the influence or impairment of either drugs or alcohol. To be charged with a DUI, you must be found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content above 0.08%.
A DUI charge will not only hurt your driving record, it can also cost you thousands of dollars in the form of fines, court costs, increased insurance rates, and more.
Legal and Court Costs
Assuming you are charged with your first DUI offense and caused no injuries or property damage, you will still need to pay a court fine.
The fines for a first DUI can range from $250 to $1,500. Additionally, if you are charged with a DUI, it’s always best to work with a lawyer to handle your case; legal fees can amount to $2,000-$5,000, depending on whether your case must go to trial.
License Reinstatement and Rehabilitation
If your license was suspended as a result of your DUI charge, you will need to pay a fee to reinstate it. This reinstatement fee typically costs between $250 and $500.
Furthermore, some individuals are required to attend drug or alcohol rehabilitation counseling and classes before reinstating their license, which may cost between $100 and $500 to complete.
Ignition Interlock and Insurance Costs
Ignition interlock systems require drivers to take a breathalyzer test before operating their personal vehicle. The cost to install one of these systems is approximately $100, and you’ll also need to pay $50-$100 each month to maintain it.
Furthermore, a DUI charge can raise your insurance rates drastically, leading to an increase in insurance costs of up to $1,500 per year for three years.
You Have Options for Affordable Help
Have you been charged with a DUI in Arizona?
The experienced attorneys at the Thrush Law Group can help by providing legal advice and developing an effective DUI defense to dismiss your case or acquit you of your charges.