Is Home Arrest an Option?

Home Arrest Second-time offenders may also be eligible for home arrest. There are several requirements that must be satisfied before a person may be accepted into this program. Begin working on satisfying those requirements well before the time of sentencing. The probation department’s approval is necessary before the court will place someone in this type […]

Continue reading

Are Work Release Programs Available to Me?

Work Release Programs First- and second-time offenders are eligible for work release programs in the state of Arizona. Whether or not a person’s sentence will include work release is left to the discretion of the court. If a person is employed or is a student, the court may permit the person to be released from […]

Continue reading

Am I Required to Have an Interlock Device?

Arizona Interlock Device When a person is convicted of regular misdemeanor DUI, extreme DUI, super extreme DUI or aggravated DUI, the law requires the installation of an interlock device on any vehicle to be operated by that person. An interlock device connects a Breathalyzer to the vehicle?s ignition system. The device will prevent the vehicle […]

Continue reading

What Happens on a Second Offense Extreme DUI?

Second Offense Extreme DUI Penalties If any person is convicted of a second offense extreme DUI and has previously been convicted of extreme DUI or a non-extreme DUI, then the court shall order a jail term of 45 days, but the court may suspend all but 14 days so long as certain requirements are met. […]

Continue reading

What Happens on an Arizona Extreme DUI First Offense?

Arizona Extreme DUI – First Offense It is unlawful to drive or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with an alcohol concentration of .15 or more. Any person convicted of Arizona extreme DUI shall be sentenced to: Serve not less than 30 consecutive days in jail, but the court may suspend all […]

Continue reading

What are the Penalties for Second Offense DUI?

Penalties for a Second Offense DUI, Non-Extreme A person convicted of a second offense DUI within 84 months of the first, or a first-offense DUI and has previously been convicted in another state for a first-offense DUI/DWI that is similar to Arizona law, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. The dates of commission of […]

Continue reading

What are the Arizona Penalties for First-Time Arizona DUI?

Penalties for First-Time Arizona DUI Offender, Non-Extreme The statute requires the court to sentence a first-time Arizona DUI offender to serve not less than ten consecutive days in jail. However, the court may suspend all but 24 consecutive hours of the sentence if the offender completes an alcohol abuse screening and education program. Since the […]

Continue reading

Do I Have to Complete a Substance Abuse Screening?

Substance Abuse Screening If convicted, a first-time DUI offender or a repeat offender must complete a substance abuse screening. If the court or the screening facility determines that the offender has a substance abuse problem, the court may order the offender to obtain counseling, education or treatment. If the offender has the financial resources to […]

Continue reading

Special Circumstances – Aggravated DUI and Repeat Offenders

Repeat Offenders and Special Circumstances In addition to a suspension of driving privileges, some drivers suffer a subsequent revocation as well. The law states that a person convicted of a second drinking and driving charge within 84 months of the first one shall have his/her driving privilege revoked for a period of not more than […]

Continue reading

Reinstating Driving Privileges

Is Reinstating Driving Privileges Possible Driving privileges are not automatically reinstated following a period of suspension. The driver must complete some paperwork and tender a fee to have his/her privileges reinstated, otherwise his/her privileges to drive are still considered to be suspended. This fact is sometimes overlooked by drivers and may result in stiff penalties […]

Continue reading